The Witcher — Enhanced Edition

Corillium Darkstar
6 min readFeb 17, 2021
Credit: CD Projekt

Recently I purchased the Witcher games given all the hype the franchise was receiving with the release of the Netflix series. I was excited to let my friends know, but one of them informed me to “Skip the first one. It’s not needed for the story and was hot garbage.” While I appreciate feedback, I prefer to make my own opinions. After all, people have different tastes and interests. It’s a shame the Witcher couldn’t have slayed this unimaginative monstrosity before I wasted the hours invested in this game.

The soundtrack for the game does an excellent job of setting the mood and time period. While I knew the graphics were going to be dated, they were actually pretty good for a game released back in 2008. I wish I could say the game continued to impress me. Despite the look of the game, I started to realize how little effort was expended. For starters, the skins for many of the NPC’s were reused quite often. You start to feel like Geralt is talking to the same people throughout the game, or there was a lot of inbreeding in this town. In addition to the clone army, many NPC’s had a problem with their hair. Whether on their head or face, it constantly flopped all over the place like Trump’s comb over on a windy day. While it was amusing at first, it quickly lost its novelty becoming a distraction and an annoyance. Surely such a bug could have been easily addressed, but I guess the developers…

--

--

Corillium Darkstar
0 Followers

Aspiring writer with a lifelong passion for storytelling and sharing ideas. Life and the experience it brings fascinates me, so expect topics on everything.